

City of Hermosa Beach

City Hall 1315 Valley Drive Hermosa Beach, CA 90254

Meeting Minutes - Draft

City Council

Mayor Justin Massey

Mayor Pro Tem Dean Francois

Councilmembers Rob Saemann Mike Detoy Ray Jackson

Tuesday, June 11, 2024

4:00 PM

Call and Notice of Special Meeting: Applicant Interviews for the Planning Commission and only those matters set forth on the agenda.

4:00 PM - PLANNING COMMISSION APPLICANT INTERVIEWS

1. CALL TO ORDER

Mayor Massey called to order the Special Meeting at 4:00 p.m.

2. ROLL CALL

City Clerk Myra Maravilla announced a quorum.

Present: 5 - Mayor Massey, Mayor Pro Tempore Francois, Councilmember Saemann,

Councilmember Detoy, and Councilmember Jackson

Absent: 0

3. PUBLIC COMMENT

Mayor Massey announced Matt Simpson's withdrawal of his application earlier that day.

City Manager Suja Lowenthal provided an update on the applications received. Applicant Matt Simpson requested a virtual interview after withdrawing his application. The City Council opted to accept the original withdrawal of Matt Simpson.

Time for Public Comment: 3 minutes, and 22 seconds.

Virtual Public Comment:

Kent Allen

4. INTERVIEWS

24-0303

INTERVIEWS TO FILL THREE TERMS ENDING JUNE 30, 2028 ON THE PLANNING COMMISSION

Four applicants applied for the three advertised positions on the Planning Commission and were notified of the date, time, and place of their scheduled interviews. One applicant was disqualified as they did not meet residency requirements and one application was received after the posted deadline.

The applicants (listed alphabetically) are:

Michael Flaherty Stephen Izant David Pedersen Matt Simpson

Time for Deliberation: 5 minutes, and 46 seconds.

Mayor Massey provided comments.

Councilmember Jackson provided comments.

Councilmember Detoy provided comments.

Councilmember Saemann provided comments.

Mayor Pro Tem Francois provided comments.

City Attorney Patrick Donegan provided information.

A motion was made by Mayor Massey, seconded by Councilmember Saemann to forego the applicant interviews and move forward with appointing. Councilmember Jackson made a friendly amendment to appoint the three remaining applicants. The friendly amendment was not accepted by the maker of the motion. Councilmember Jackson withdrew his friendly amendment. The motion carried by the following vote:

Aye: 3 - Mayor Massey, Saemann, and Jackson

No: 2 - Francois, and Detoy

Absent: 0

5. APPOINTMENTS

REPORT 24-0305

THREE APPOINTMENTS TO THE PLANNING COMMISSION

(City Clerk Myra Maravilla)

A motion was made by Councilmember Detoy, seconded by Councilmember Jackon to appoint David Pedersen, Mike Flaherty, and Stephen Izant to the Planning Commission for the terms ending June 30, 2028. The motion carried by the following vote:

Aye: 5 - Mayor Massey, Francois, Saemann, Detoy, and Jackson

Absent: 0

6. ADJOURNMENT

Mayor Massey adjourned the meeting at 4:18 p.m.